The Cockatoos | 2019


A mob of wild cockatoos has descended on the neighbourhood. For some they bring life and renewal – but for others, death and destruction.

The Cockatoos is a tale of suburban secrets broken open to the light.

This ensemble piece explores a 1970s Australian suburb far away and yet very close to home. Estranged lovers, Olive and Mick dance tentatively towards reconciliation. Eight-year-old Tim spends a night alone in the park. These two stories rise in a spiralling sarabande of exclusion and belonging.

From the short story by Nobel laureate Patrick White and adapted for the stage by Andrew Hale, The Cockatoos is a quintessentially Australian tale from a master of the metaphysical.

After a sell-out, award-winning season of our 2019 Fringe show REST, WAYTCo is thrilled to present our new production, featuring a large cast of talented young members.

Reccomended for ages 14+

Dates and Time

  • Wednesday, November 20 (Preview)
  • Thursday, November 21 (Opening)
  • Friday, November 22
  • Saturday, November 23
  • Wednesday, November 27
  • Thursday, November 28
  • Friday, November 29 (Closing)

State Theatre Centre WA
174-176 William St, Perth WA 6000

Price: $35 Adult | $25 Student | $17.50 WAYTCo Member

Email for your member code.



Presented by WA Youth Theatre Company and Act-Belong-Commit

Short Story by: Patrick White
Adapted and Directed by: Andrew Hale
Assistant Directors: Jono Battista, Elise Wilson

Performed by: Amelia Burke, Grace Chow, Sylvia Cornes, Rebecca Collin, Alexandra Gerrans, Liam Hickey, Georgia Ivers, Samai King, Christopher Moro, Brent Shields, Zachary Sheridan, Lauren Thomas

Lighting Design: Tony Gordon
Sound Design: Neil Webster
Costume Design: Laura Heffernan
Stage Manager: Emily Stokoe


This production would not have been possible without the support of our generous donors:

Mel Watts, Margarete & Michael Chaney, Osnat Harp, Samantha Rees, Erica Smyth, James BErlyn, Robyn Sermon, Fiona de Garis, Helen Hristofski, Alison Morley, Andrew Baker, Jake Denner, Marcus Canning, Paige Gibbs, Denise and Nigel Hewitt, Mallika Mac, Carmel McKie, Nathan Bennett, Mellinda Frost, Margaret Wilson, Alica Byfield, Rania Ghandour, Mollie Hewitt, Terri Harris, Julian Hobba, Tahmina Maskinyar, June Moorhouse, Indi Ranson, Margaret Wilson, Andrew Hale, Gemma Robins, Vanessa Stasiw, Roshima Thornton, Ann Spear, Kate Antonas, Pollu Billing, Layanna Hepburn, Beth Williams, Harrison Mitchell, Ai-Ling Truong

Thank you for your contribution!